Main Menu

Attention web-fu gurus!

Started by Noisybast, 15 September, 2006, 02:53:41 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Noisybast

OK, not really a web design question per se, but it's a technical issue that's beginning to get on my nerves, as I kind of half know what's up ( sort of, ish).

As some of you know, I work as a lowly tech support chimp for a second-rate ADSL ISP (which will remain nameless). Since the company made some changes in a whole bunch of exchanges, lots of customers have been complaining that they can't access certain sites.

It's not a secure sites issue (although some of the affected sites are secure).

It seems to be linked to specific types of URL (and this is where my web-fu knowledge fails me). Consider the following examples:

http://www.mac.com/WebObjects/Webmail.woa?aff=consumer&cty=US&lang=en

http://www.amazon.co.uk/music-rock-classical-pop-jazz/b/ref=topnav__w_h_/026-0684999-9697213?ie=UTF8&node=229816

http://login.live.com/login.srf?id=2&svc=mail&cbid=24325&msppjph=1&tw=0&fs=1&fsa=1&fsat=1296000&lc=2057&_lang=EN

As far as I can tell, the common denominator is the bit at the end of each URL (?something =x&someting else=y).

At the risk of betraying my woeful lack of knowledge in this area, what I need to know is, what exactly does that last set of switches signify?

Going even further out on a limb, if anyone has any knowledge of how these pages are handled by MSANs, that would be most useful.

If anyone can answer by buffonish questions (I'm thinking of Funt Solo and Slippo here), they may well be helping to make a lot of angry people very happy (as well as earning me a fair amount of corporate bullshit brownie points)!
Dan Dare will return for a new adventure soon, Earthlets!

Banners

Is it to do with the ampersands in the URLs? If they're typed direct and not encoded properly in the referring link this can cause problems.