Main Menu

Hello - new to 2000AD - reading recommendations?

Started by Chancer, 20 January, 2009, 02:17:55 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Chancer

Greetings all!

I'm fairly new to 2000 AD, and comics/graphic novels in general really.  Read a few progs when I was younger so am familiar with Judge Dredd, but have only started reading properly for the last few months.

Just wanted to ask what collected editions you would recommend as essential reading?  Whether significant Dredd storylines, or other classics like Strontium Dog.

Also any recommendations on graphic novels in general?  I've read the Preacher series which was excellent (are the Garth Ennis Dredds worth picking up?), as well as Watchmen and some of the Punisher Max series - so anything along these lines.

Thanks in advance... :D

satchmo

Welcome Chancer!

There are some fantastic collections of Dredd stories, the Complete Casefiles series reprints everything in order from the beginning, and of more recent stuff I would recommend The Pit, Total War, Brothers of The Blood, and America.
And if you like Preacher check out The Boys. Garth's Dredd run isn't his finest hour I'm afraid.

IndigoPrime

In general: Hellboy, Usagi Yojimbo, Lucifer and Sandman are series I enjoyed. V for Vendetta, Watchmen and League of Extraordinary Gentlemen (at least vols 1 and 2) by Alan Moore are also often cited as being at the pinnacle of good comics, along with Maus, by Art Spiegelman. I'm sure many will recommend Preacher, too, but I never really cared for that series—for me, it was like to comics equivalent of Die Hard with a 'clever' religious bent draped over it.

In terms of 2000 AD, the following would be good places to start:

Strontium Dog: the four Search/Destory Agency Files and Final Solution—collects in its entirety the original Strontium Dog run, which for me was 2000 AD best series.