Main Menu

Using a Wacom... huh?

Started by mygrimmbrother, 16 October, 2009, 06:15:28 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

mygrimmbrother

I have recently been experimenting with a wacom bamboo for the first time, using it to manipulate colour in photoshop. I'd like to use it for inking in illustrator, but i can't seem to work out how to do the pressure-sensitive thing. So far, I'm just selecting a brush and then using the wacom as a substitute for the mouse, but it ain't pressure sensitive. what am i doing wrong guys?

i have to admit that i'm new to illustrator too, and i've borrowed the wacom off a colleague, so i'm not sure what model it is, just a basic bamboo i guess (it has a nib sort of like a ballpoint pen if that helps...)

Any suggestions chaps?

Mike Gloady

Not able to help myself, but am in the market for one as a christmas pressie to myself.

Oddly I only looked at this thread because, I pooh you not, I misread it as "Using a woman... huh?" which is something I'm SURE I could have helped you with (yeah, right!)
New in town?  Follow this link for a guide to the Greatest Threads Ever

mygrimmbrother

Frankly Mike, I'll take advice on either!

uncle fester

Hey Grimm. The pressure sensitive thing only kicks in in Photoshop as far as I know. Illustrator deals in vectors and paths and other such witchcraft, not pixel manipulation.

I only use Illustrator for panel framing and lettering - everything else in PS. Maybe Jim or Bolt (or PJ??) could confirm. Pressure sensitivity is as much as you want it to be in Photoshop, particularly with the airbrush brushes selected), and that really does make a massive difference in plain black and white pictures. 

Oddly there is a bit of a quirk if you leave PS open and go off for your tea or something, as when you leave it for long periods, the sensitivity switches off and you may as well be in Illustrator (Save, switch it off and switch it on again works at this point!)

Hope this helps.

mygrimmbrother