Main Menu

Business card design

Started by Drunk Si, 17 August, 2009, 03:35:13 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Drunk Si

Meh, this is my first post so I should probably introduce myself as well..but no.

Anyways, I graduated about a year ago from an Illustration course but, circumstances being what they are, have spent the past year working as a sales assistant. It's all good, but over the months, rage and bitter resentment have been building and curdling inside me; fermenting into a potent brew.

Suddenly I snapped! You could say I had an epiphany, and I decided to take steps to use my degree and at least try to have a career that involves drawing rather than selling computer games; and the first thing on my list of things to do was to design a business card!

So I started Friday evening and worked on it until Saturday evening when I placed my order; this is what I came up with;

front

back

I kind of took some shortcuts, first of all I didn't draw the front from scratch, I decided to bring an old image out of retirement, so the beer squid is probably about two years old, it was part of an etched triptych I did back at uni http://www.simontaylorillustration.co.uk/images/printphobiassmall.jpg (which I still keep meaning to aquatint someday, but without access to a print studio I'm finding that one a bit of a challenge!) so it aint new but I don't really see that as a problem, none fo the people I hand them out to are going to know, or care.

Secondly, I went for double sided printing purely because I wanted to just get it done and didn't feel I had the time to ponce around balancing text and image, so the idea was just slap a picture on the front and stick the text on the back but then I had a bit too much negative space so, I don't know why, I slapped an eyeball in there.