Main Menu

I believe the children are the future...

Started by DrRocka, 20 May, 2017, 12:00:59 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

DrRocka

Ho - kay, now this post will likely appeal mainly to those squaxx who, like me, are in the forties, have read the prog since we were kids, and are getting on with raising young squaxx of their own.
And look, I'm not trying to blow my own trumpet or get you to love me or anything, but tonight my 10 year old daughter has literally blown me away. I mean, flabbergasted me in the most wonderful manner. And it's like this...
You see, I'm a musician and a writer. Never had anything published, beyond a couple of short stories and poems in various underground magazines. I write songs, hop into a studio, record 'em, then bugger off on the road in my wee camper van (still can't beleive I had a whole conversation with John Wagner last year about camper vans and neither of us once referred to them as Mo Pads) and play gigs and get rewarded with beer and sheckles. I pop my books on amazon and while I'm far from rich, between this and working three days a week down my local, I do alright.
So tonight, me and Small Rocka pop down the local (I need a quick word with my Gaffer), have a J20 or two and a couple of pints of Guinness (guess who had what), and then...
..Small Rocka suddenly began to outline an idea she'd had about a House Cat called Jasper. I told her that that may be a bit derivative, so Jasper became a superhero cat called CATMAN. And his owner was The Librarian. And The Librarian was a SUPERVILLAIN. So Catman spends his nights secretly undoing all the supervillain's nefarious plans. And Catman's greatest enemy is Sharpclaw, who's owned by the world's greatest Superhero, and who spends HIS nights undoing all the superhero's good deeds.