Main Menu

why doctor who will probally suck.

Started by doktor bee, 10 March, 2005, 12:52:11 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

doktor bee

The new doctor who series looks terrible to me.
i believe it will just be a nostalgia fest meaning new fans wont take to it and that it wont be as scary as the old seasons use to be.

i was a big fan of doctor who when i was about eight before i stopped watching television. i was looking forward to the new series but the adverts and press make it look terrible to me.

therev

er..If you stopped watching TV at aged 8 how do you know what the adverts look like?
;-)

DavidXBrunt

Why Doctor Who will probably be brilliant (in no particular order) -

* A talented lead actor.

* Directors and production staff with a proven track record.

* A writing team that has writers who've proven themselves on acclaimed T.V. shows, novels and stageplays who are also Who fans.

* A honking great budget.

* A list of starry guest actors as long as your arm.

* A producer/writer who is responsible for some of the greatest T.V. shows in recent memory who also understands and loves Doctor Who as much as the next fan.

I'm going into this with nothing but unbridled optimism. It might fall at the first hurdle. It really could. But I don't think it will.

Adrian Bamforth

I didn't think they should bring it back, When they decided to, I thought they must have come up with a new angle, made it more like a costume drama, brought in more Time Lord mythology or returned it to it's more classic HG Welles'/HP Lovecraft roots.

However, it looks kind of the same to me but with a less colourful Doctor. As Alan Moore said it was never the most well-defined universe. For stories to work there kind of has to have something to say, I'm not sure if the show had anything left to say. And I say that as a huge fan of Steven Moffat, Press Gang and new Doctor Who writer.

ADE

Funtwangle

quimby

those reasons didnt help battlestar galactica

Krustabi