Main Menu

Diggle and Jock on target with first ever creator-owned work

Started by Molch-R, 29 February, 2012, 05:06:33 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Molch-R

The creative superteam of Andy Diggle and Jock are returning to the 2000 AD stable next month with their first creator-owned project together.

Snapshot debuts in the Judge Dredd Megazine #322, on sale Wednesday 28 March in the UK and 11 April in North America.

This tale of cold-blooded killers and sinister conspiracies is the first time the British team behind hit series The Losers have worked together on their own property and marks a return to the Megazine after their fan favourite Judge Dredd spin-off series, Lenny Zero.

"Jock and I have been chipping away at Snapshot for a few years now in our spare time, assuming we'd approach a publisher once we had enough material to show," said Diggle. "But when I bumped into Matt Smith at the New York Comic Con, he suggested the Megazine's creator-owned slot might be the perfect place for it. After all, the Megazine was where Jock and I first worked together on Lenny Zero, back before The Losers or Green Arrow: Year One. So it feels like coming home."

Jake is an easygoing San Francisco slacker, living in a benign fantasy world of comic-books and video-games. One morning, as Jake is riding his pushbike through Golden Gate Park to work, he spots a state-of-the-art smartphone lying in the grass. Sticking it in his backpack, Jake rides to the comic-book store where he works and flips through the photos stored on it. Photos of a murder victim. Then the phone begins to ring...

Every month the Megazine includes 10 pages of original creator-owned comics, with previous series including American Reaper by Pat Mills and Clint Langley, and Simon Spurrier and PJ Holden's Numbercruncher.