Main Menu

Short Comic: Human (by me!)

Started by michaelarby, 19 February, 2023, 03:03:36 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

michaelarby

Hi guys - hope I'm sharing this to the right place!

I'm an amateur artist, working my way into a bit of writing too. I've created a couple of short comics that are available for free on my website. would love if yous could check them out, maybe even offer a bit of feedback!

Full comic is available here: https://www.michaelarby.com/human

My other short, Dragonstar (Medievil knights IN SPACE!) can be found here: https://www.michaelarby.com/dragonstar

Cheers!
Art website: www.michaelarby.com

JohnW

Oh - another one of these 'creative' types, eh?

I only looked at that one page, so I'm only shooting from the hip here.
The story didn't grab me with that first page. That's partly down to my personal taste, but also to all the text. It's perfectly clear; it's broken up nicely, panel by panel; but it's all exposition. There's no action to arrest the attention and no character to pique the curiosity. (Who's this? What's she doing? I want to turn the page and find out.)

The art, on the other hand, is attractive (particularly the colouring). I'm looking at it on my phone, and my immediate instinct was to zoom in for a better look.
For my tuppence worth, the script needs an opening that sparks that same immediate instinct.

Maybe a proper assessment would make me reconsider, but I tend to judge all comics at first glance. If it doesn't win me right out of the gate, then I'm not buying. That may not seem just reward for your efforts, but them's the breaks.

Anyway, fair play to you for getting this done. It may not be my cup of tea but it looks good. Moreover, you got it out of your head and onto the page. Ideas are worthless until they're realised in ink. As someone more professional than l am said, "Amateurs sit around waiting for inspiration: the rest of us get down to work."
Keep on pluggin'.

John Ware, currently writing jack shit.