Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
 

Show Posts

This section allows you to view all posts made by this member. Note that you can only see posts made in areas you currently have access to.


Messages - davidbishop

Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 51
1
General / Re: Mike Dorey art
« on: 19 February, 2021, 01:20:38 PM »
Yep, I've ordered a gorgeous colour WWI piece!

2
General / Re: Forthcoming Thrills - 2021
« on: 11 February, 2021, 05:23:03 PM »
Hopefully. But if he doesn't, all the copies will be gone elsewhere...

3
News / Launch event for Robbie Morrison's first novel, Edge of the Grave
« on: 10 February, 2021, 04:28:50 PM »
In case you haven't heard, Robbie Morrison's first novel is being published by Pan Macmillan on March 4th. Edge of the Grave is a crime thriller set in 1932 Glasgow, a city still recovering from the Great War; split by religious division and swarming with razor gangs.. Having read an advance copy I can say 2000 AD readers who enjoy Nikolai Dante or Shimura will savour every page!

There is a free online launch event on Thursday March 4th at 7.30pm in which Robbie will discuss his novel and career with former 2000 AD editor David Bishop. To sign up for the event email weethreeindies@gmail.com and they will send you the link the day before the event.

4
General / Re: Forthcoming Thrills - 2021
« on: 10 February, 2021, 04:23:26 PM »
I'm disappointed that the Fiend of the Eastern Front collection seems to have dropped off the schedule.

It still shows on Amazon's site that it will be released in October:

https://amzn.to/2SZumUR




This is great news! I've been anticipating this release for a while, hopefully it releases. Last year I read the fantastic Bishop Fiends novels, looking forward reading this one.

Thanks for the kind words about my Fiends novels, they are among my favourites.

The Amazon listing is incorrect; Rebellion's own Fiends collection has definitely be pushed back to 2022 in no small part to the fact it's featured in the currently onsale volume of the Ultimate Collection.

Which reminds me, I should order that volume of the Ultimate Collection!

5
General / Re: 2000AD Original Art Thread
« on: 30 January, 2021, 09:26:45 PM »
When I bought the last page from Dante featuring Lulu I almost jokingly said if anyone had the first page... well it turns out Wake did on his sales page and so I bought it - thanks again Wake. I was after some early Dante and this exchange between him and Dimitri just sums up their relationship so perfectly.



Is there a link for Wake's sales page?

6
General / Re: What happened to Gerry
« on: 24 January, 2021, 06:43:55 AM »
An interview with Gerry in our last Comic Archive, 'Fantastic Adventures' a handful of copies still available - www.comicsy.co.uk/hibernia/


Highly recommended purchase!

There are transcripts of the interview I did with GFD for the original TPO articles here:
https://viciousimagery.blogspot.com/2007/02/28-days-of-2000-ad-21-gerry-finley-day.html
https://viciousimagery.blogspot.com/2007/02/28-days-of-2000-ad-22-gerry-finley-day.html

His comment about his legacy at 2000AD is refreshingly candid:
"You can get all puffed up about things, but it was just work."

7
General / Re: Favorite Cover Lines
« on: 20 January, 2021, 01:28:10 PM »
KISS MY ASP!

or

DEATH FISH!
Sinister Dexter's
Seafood Die-T

8
General / Re: Favorite Cover Lines
« on: 20 January, 2021, 07:09:44 AM »
Ironically, attached to the least sexy image of Anderson (and, arguably, the image that looks least like the character) ever committed to paper.

Not a bad line-up inside: Wagner & Gibson on Dredd; Rennie & Quitely on Missionary Man; R Morrison & MacNeil on Shimura; the marmite delights of Creep by Spencer & Cullen; plus the revolving door of artists on Anderson: Postcards From the Edge, written by Alan Grant.

9
General / Re: Thrills Over Time
« on: 14 January, 2021, 05:22:42 PM »
Karyn is in Fetish too, iirc.

Sorry, that probably doesn't help!

10
General / Re: Thrills Over Time
« on: 11 January, 2021, 08:32:12 AM »
Not quite. Prog 1100 was the single Slaine story issue, Lord of the Beasts.

11
General / Re: Dredd epics ranked
« on: 18 December, 2020, 02:10:16 PM »
I wish someone had composed a list of how many times Sinister and/or Dexter got shot in the shoulder. By the strip's third year it had become a running gag between myself and Dan Abnett, so by now it must be dozens of times...

12
General / Re: Dredd epics ranked
« on: 16 December, 2020, 09:10:20 AM »
More rankings up this morning, and more choices to argue about!

https://dreddepicsranked.blogspot.com/2020/08/epics-37-34-very-average.html

When you finish this epic endeavour, might I suggest you rank the end of year 100-page progs? This year's festive prog will be the 21st edition. [Only took 2 years of campaigning to convince Egmont it was a good idea to try this in the 1990s...]

13
General / Re: The 2000 AD Messageboard Advent Calendar 2019!
« on: 08 December, 2020, 05:19:25 PM »
But what about that festive slump, where for five gloomy years (1997-2001) there was no cover-mounted celebration of the shared delight that is the season of gifts? It would be easy to blame Bish-Op and, latterly, the entire nation of New Zealand: so let's do that. They're on the other side of the planet, anyway: what can they do? We can all whole-heartedly agree that The Hobbit trilogy clearly cements the case that they're a country of united Chrimbo-haters.

Bah humbug.

14
General / Re: List of Judge Dredd Artists & Writers
« on: 07 December, 2020, 08:46:37 PM »
There may be other writers who haven't made your list...

15
General / Re: Forthcoming Thrills - 2020
« on: 24 November, 2020, 04:47:48 PM »
if I was Tharg, I'd be sorely tempted to announce Andy Diggle's Nemesis and David Bishop's Slaine as coming soon.

Hahahahahahahahahahahahaha to me writing Slaine.

Michael Carroll would do a far better job of that.

Andy D on Nemesis? that could work.

Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 51