Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
 

Show Posts

This section allows you to view all posts made by this member. Note that you can only see posts made in areas you currently have access to.


Messages - davidbishop

Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 51
1
Bumping this up because Robbie's debut novel Edge of the Grave is published today by Pan Macmillan and his launch event is tonight! I'll be interrogating him from 7.30pm online. You can still get the link for the event tonight - just email weethreeindies@gmail.com and ask for the details.

2
News / Re: The Great Dante Reathrough Podcast
« on: 28 February, 2021, 10:19:38 PM »
But all credit for the greatness of Dante goes to Robbie, Simon and later John Burns.

3
News / Re: The Great Dante Reathrough Podcast
« on: 28 February, 2021, 10:19:07 PM »
Listened to episode #1 and really enjoyed the easy banter. Love: space egg, chess horses. Also fascinating to hear how little feedback the creators were getting from editorial - sounds a little "The Man From Del Monte ... He Commission Another Series".

When creators are doing great work, the best thing an editor can do is shut up and get them paid on time. #YMMV

Sorry to derail the thread but: Did you commission Dante, or was it just pitched to you?
Inquiring minds, etc... ;)

John Tomlnson got Robbie & Simon started on Dante, but it was still being developed when I became Tharg [18 Dec 1995]. IIRC I was the one who suggested the story start before the Tsar Wars, to give the creators time to flesh out the supporting cast and make readers care...

4
News / Re: The Great Dante Reathrough Podcast
« on: 28 February, 2021, 05:09:59 PM »
Listened to episode #1 and really enjoyed the easy banter. Love: space egg, chess horses. Also fascinating to hear how little feedback the creators were getting from editorial - sounds a little "The Man From Del Monte ... He Commission Another Series".

When creators are doing great work, the best thing an editor can do is shut up and get them paid on time. #YMMV

5
General / Re: Mike Dorey art
« on: 19 February, 2021, 01:20:38 PM »
Yep, I've ordered a gorgeous colour WWI piece!

6
General / Re: Forthcoming Thrills - 2021
« on: 11 February, 2021, 05:23:03 PM »
Hopefully. But if he doesn't, all the copies will be gone elsewhere...

7
News / Launch event for Robbie Morrison's first novel, Edge of the Grave
« on: 10 February, 2021, 04:28:50 PM »
In case you haven't heard, Robbie Morrison's first novel is being published by Pan Macmillan on March 4th. Edge of the Grave is a crime thriller set in 1932 Glasgow, a city still recovering from the Great War; split by religious division and swarming with razor gangs.. Having read an advance copy I can say 2000 AD readers who enjoy Nikolai Dante or Shimura will savour every page!

There is a free online launch event on Thursday March 4th at 7.30pm in which Robbie will discuss his novel and career with former 2000 AD editor David Bishop. To sign up for the event email weethreeindies@gmail.com and they will send you the link the day before the event.

8
General / Re: Forthcoming Thrills - 2021
« on: 10 February, 2021, 04:23:26 PM »
I'm disappointed that the Fiend of the Eastern Front collection seems to have dropped off the schedule.

It still shows on Amazon's site that it will be released in October:

https://amzn.to/2SZumUR




This is great news! I've been anticipating this release for a while, hopefully it releases. Last year I read the fantastic Bishop Fiends novels, looking forward reading this one.

Thanks for the kind words about my Fiends novels, they are among my favourites.

The Amazon listing is incorrect; Rebellion's own Fiends collection has definitely be pushed back to 2022 in no small part to the fact it's featured in the currently onsale volume of the Ultimate Collection.

Which reminds me, I should order that volume of the Ultimate Collection!

9
General / Re: 2000AD Original Art Thread
« on: 30 January, 2021, 09:26:45 PM »
When I bought the last page from Dante featuring Lulu I almost jokingly said if anyone had the first page... well it turns out Wake did on his sales page and so I bought it - thanks again Wake. I was after some early Dante and this exchange between him and Dimitri just sums up their relationship so perfectly.



Is there a link for Wake's sales page?

10
General / Re: What happened to Gerry
« on: 24 January, 2021, 06:43:55 AM »
An interview with Gerry in our last Comic Archive, 'Fantastic Adventures' a handful of copies still available - www.comicsy.co.uk/hibernia/


Highly recommended purchase!

There are transcripts of the interview I did with GFD for the original TPO articles here:
https://viciousimagery.blogspot.com/2007/02/28-days-of-2000-ad-21-gerry-finley-day.html
https://viciousimagery.blogspot.com/2007/02/28-days-of-2000-ad-22-gerry-finley-day.html

His comment about his legacy at 2000AD is refreshingly candid:
"You can get all puffed up about things, but it was just work."

11
General / Re: Favorite Cover Lines
« on: 20 January, 2021, 01:28:10 PM »
KISS MY ASP!

or

DEATH FISH!
Sinister Dexter's
Seafood Die-T

12
General / Re: Favorite Cover Lines
« on: 20 January, 2021, 07:09:44 AM »
Ironically, attached to the least sexy image of Anderson (and, arguably, the image that looks least like the character) ever committed to paper.

Not a bad line-up inside: Wagner & Gibson on Dredd; Rennie & Quitely on Missionary Man; R Morrison & MacNeil on Shimura; the marmite delights of Creep by Spencer & Cullen; plus the revolving door of artists on Anderson: Postcards From the Edge, written by Alan Grant.

13
General / Re: Thrills Over Time
« on: 14 January, 2021, 05:22:42 PM »
Karyn is in Fetish too, iirc.

Sorry, that probably doesn't help!

14
General / Re: Thrills Over Time
« on: 11 January, 2021, 08:32:12 AM »
Not quite. Prog 1100 was the single Slaine story issue, Lord of the Beasts.

15
General / Re: Dredd epics ranked
« on: 18 December, 2020, 02:10:16 PM »
I wish someone had composed a list of how many times Sinister and/or Dexter got shot in the shoulder. By the strip's third year it had become a running gag between myself and Dan Abnett, so by now it must be dozens of times...

Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 51