Main Menu

Prog 1934 - Warp Factor Ten!

Started by Tjm86, 06 June, 2015, 11:14:59 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

ThryllSeekyr

Quote from: mejustnow on 12 June, 2015, 09:10:29 AM

Given the sloughing in this prog (not proag) it becomes apparent that his name was Slough (rhymes with fluff) Feg.

That's a new one for me!

Quote from: SheridanWell, Sláine would be pronounced totally differently to Slaine, for a start.  I'm going to continue to pronounce Slough to rhyme with cow, because a) that's what I've been doing for the past thirty years and b) sluffeg sounds silly.

I think it sounds just right if you put less emphasis on the Uff. Almost make it silent and it's like Slff-Feg.

I was always saying Slo-Owe myself.

Quote from: Fungus

Ukko [ Uck-o ]
Slough [ Plough ]
Niamh  [ um, there only is one right way, so that's easy ]

I can't bring myself to slightly warp-spasm my vocal chords into the correct Irish pronunciation of Slaine, shudder when others go that extra mile, so just stick to 'Slain'.

Ukko I could have sworn I heard Pat Mlls pronounce this one as Arko or even Orko (You know , as in He-Man - Masters of the Universe!) on his last podcast. I think he was talking with Michael Molcher.

Slough What I said earlier.

Naimh  Now this one is my favourite, I believe it's either pronounced like Neeve or just plain Eve.

Slaine I always go with, how it looks like it's spelt. Yet, I once heard a Irish fellow pronounce it as Sla-Oyne. I put up a link to this one some where else on this message-board. he was some guy who made a video whre he was answering letters and opening packages sent to him by some friends. Somebody sent him the Slaine-Beanie (Not mine!) and that's when I heard him say it that way. I think he sounded Irish as well. He had that northern accent.

Frank

Does Slaine win the prize for comic strip which has caused the most debates about characters' name pronunciation?