Main Menu

Fantastic Brendan McCarthy Interview - Zaucer of Zilk

Started by Colin YNWA, 02 December, 2011, 09:16:53 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Satanist

Hmm, just pretend I wrote something witty eh?

Emperor

Thought I'd hijack this post for another Brendan Mccarthy interview that went slightly under the radar (as The Clare Champion isn't really a very high profile publication outside of its circulation area):

QuoteThe creator of a new, internationally-released graphic novel The Zaucer of Zilk has given new life to some of Clare's streetscapes in this popular comic strip.

The Zaucer of Zilk creator Brendan McCarthy, whose parents hail from Mullagh in West Clare, spent last summer in the family home. Needing some photographic locations for the story's opening scenes, he headed for Miltown Malbay and Ennis with his ideas and a digital camera.

"I was living back in West Clare last summer and that's when I started drawing the comic artwork, after the scripts had been approved. I needed some locations and I had decided to use treated photographic backgrounds for some of the pictures. Miltown Malbay was perfect for the look I was after, which is based on the opening Liverpool part of the Yellow Submarine film.

"Also, some of the shop fronts in Ennis were used and the interior of one of the old-style sweetshops that are still going strong in the town. The beautiful old shop fronts of these Clare towns were perfect for the design of the strip - after getting lots of digital Photoshop treatment to make them look rainy and forbidding," he told The Clare Champion.

Brendan's parents met and married in London in the 1950s. Although Brendan was brought up in London, he spent much of his childhood in Clare, playing amongst the haystacks and fairy forts where the local folklore and Celtic legends had a big impression on his young imagination.