Main Menu

Dredd-ful?

Started by DrQ, 17 March, 2013, 07:07:46 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

CheechFU

Quote from: DrQ on 17 March, 2013, 07:07:46 AM
Firstly... I wanted to post this in the 'Film Discussion' section, but don't seem to be able to post a new topic or reply to any... is this coz I'm a newbie?

So that's my explanation for talking about the new film here.

Secondly... I did most of my reading of 2000AD + related comics in the 1980s, and a little bit in the 1990s, but haven't touched it since. My anticipation and viewing of 'Dredd,' however, has re-ignited my interest - I'm going to sound like a right old bugger when I say, however, that 2000AD is a lot pricier than it was! Of course it is, inflation and all that - but I put it to fans of 2000AD in the 21st century to convince me I should resume weekly injections of thrill power!

Onto the film...

It wasn't awful. There are parts of it that were right on the mark (Karl Urban; the uniform, Lawmaster, Lawgiver, Hall of Justice & general Judgey stuff) - but while the 1995 film failed to get serious enough... 'Dredd' was too serious! I have posted a review (of sorts) here...

http://pepsoid.wordpress.com/2013/03/08/a-feeling-of-dredd/

... but wanted to add that the new film completely lost the satire of the comic. Yes, I did only watch half the film, and I haven't read Judge Dredd in recent years, but may I direct you to a review by someone who presumably did watch all of the film and perhaps has more familiarity with 21st century Dredd? Here...

http://events.austin360.com/reviews/show/14280505-review-dredd-3d

- a review which I pretty much entirely agree with!

I repeat the word "satire" - which I think both films pretty much completely bypassed. Are we JD fans perceived as not intelligent enough to "get it"? Or something?

DrQ
I only read half of your post and none of this thread.
Am I late to the game?

sheldipez

Quote from: CheechFU on 12 May, 2013, 09:04:15 PM